An Introduction and a Proposal

Hello there, ladies and gentlemen. I thank you for taking a little time out from all the numerous things the internet can grant you to read this first entry.

Who am I? Well, I suppose we can settle for you knowing me as the Watcher. Why the Watcher? It is I because I enjoy watching movies, television shows, and theatrical performances. Of course, I also read plenty of literature and graphic novels, listen to a lot of music, and play video games. Calling myself the Media Consumer, however, just doesn’t have quite the same ring to it. Besides, movies are a specialty of mine. Thus, I am the Watcher.

Now, why am I here, posting a blog in the hope of someone reading? Simple. I, like many folks on the internet, have opinions. For me, my main opinions are about media. We have so many forms of media, all of which serve as methods of storytelling. Stories, that one thing that can be shared across all of humanity. No matter what the medium, no matter what the genre, stories have a way of transporting us to another world. They can allow us to access the life of another person, to gain understanding or insight through its lessons, or even just provide a wonderful escape from our normal world for just a moment. There is always a story to tell.

I want to help you all when it comes to stories. Perhaps I can shed light on works you may not be familiar with, or offer my opinions on current tales or familiar yarns. Maybe I could even talk about the storytellers, offering you a new insight and appreciation for how their stories are told. Either way, I believe that my opinions on media can allow me to give you all a gateway to stories.

Thus, I have for you a proposal. Every Monday through Friday, I will write entries for this blog, covering a variety of things. I can offer reviews, discuss current media-related news, or even just give my thoughts or recommendations on certain subjects. I’ll cover a variety of media, from movies to literature to video games. I’ll give my thoughts on all of them, and I hope that you will read these thoughts. I hope you’ll read these entries and that maybe, just maybe, you might walk away with a desire to revisit an old story, hunt down a new tale you had not seen or considered, or even just weigh my opinions against your own.

So, what do you say? Shall we read on?

Leave a Reply

